Venus in firs by BenCoffman

*I just announced my 2016 night-sky photography workshops, where I teach all of my in-field and post-processing techniques. Check my website for details.*

Friend and fellow photographer Mitch Carlson accompanied me for this shoot several weeks back. The goal was to capture the planet Venus shining brightly in the skies over South Falls (Silver Falls State Park). Despite some patchy fog that was pretty think in places, we got lucky and made it happen.

I beg of you, plead of you, please give this one a click to view it on a dark background.

I had shot a similar composition over three years ago. I’d never quite been happy with that old photo, which was extremely dark and had some problems with the light painting techniques I’d used. This is a really challenging place to shoot for various reasons, but I feel like I made significant improvements on that old image.

Thanks for checking out the photo!

http://500px.com/photo/130945559

Leave a comment